So funny story, I was on Tumblr and even though I really don’t run a Franco fan blog, I post quite frequently Franco-y stuff. Yeah, I know I’m lame. One day a fellow fan messaged me a story about how through a charitable donation to Water Defense (a cause co-founded by Mark Ruffalo), she was invited to the Now You See Me 2 premiere in New York City, and was able to meet the majority of the cast including Mark Ruffalo, Jesse Eisenberg, and (although briefly) Dave Franco himself (!!!). After sharing her story, I showed her my post (deleted) I had written about Dave, which lead to a conversation about some other things too, including traveling, overcoming obstacles and living life. She is a diplomat, so she is frequently abroad, and when she’s off work she takes time to do some really cool things like paragliding and learning tango dancing . She mentioned in her blog that she was inspired to go out more and make memories due to the loss of a loved one to Alzheimer’s, and she dedicated her blog to her travels and bucket list accomplishments. This hit home for me because I have a grandmother who was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s, and the whole situation made me think about how little I have lived so far. I had visited my grandmother prior to my departure for San Diego and it was a very sobering experience.

Over the years, I have dreamed of the things I would do given the chance. I’ve never been outside the country, and highly resent not taking the opportunity to study abroad. I’ve always been introverted too, so there’s so many experiences I have missed out on due to being afraid. Afraid of what other people would say. Afraid of no money (which is still a legit excuse in some cases). Afraid of how I would feel if I didn’t succeed. Over time, I have written different bucket lists, none of which I took very seriously. Moving to California was a big step, but I know I don’t want to be confined here with nowhere else to go. And I don’t want to have nothing to look back on if my life should end early. Film has opened a huge portal of possibilities to me, and has shown me a world I haven’t experienced. I thought of a bucket list for myself. If you don’t mind, I will share it with you:

I will do a strikethrough if it is completed!

UPDATE 7/17

It’s been a year in sunny California and I have made some slight progress. I’ve really had my highs and lows, but I revisited my list and will make more strides to complete it.

Adriana’s Bucket List (Will be updated  as I think of more)

  1. Visit a minimum of 10 countries, and visit some landmarks from my favorite films, and spend one New Year’s Eve in a foreign city. To date the most foreign place I’ve been is Los Angeles. Update (07/17)– I will be going on a cruise in August! I will get to go to the Bahamas- a start! FOREIGN COUNTRIES VISITED: 0/10. 
  2. Publish a book. As you can see, I love writing, and if I could commit to it, I want to publish a book. I have poetry stashed away, a (somewhat interesting) life story, and a crazy imagination. Update (07/17)– I finally had an idea for a book. I won’t publicly post it, but it’s GOOD! Currently working on a pitch and samples, and will work on contacting literary agents in the next few months. The only hint I’ll give, is that it has to do with list items #7 and #11. 
  3. Make a profound difference in someone’s life. I don’t know how I would do that, but I want to know I made a change. 
  4. Attend a major film awards show. You know like the Academy Awards, the Golden Globes, the SAG Awards. The Oscars would be my number one pick, with The Golden Globes a close second.
  5. Leave encouraging notes in random places in an unfamiliar city. Because, I saw this on Tumblr and I’ve been really wanting to do it. And I’ve always wanted to find random notes addressed to me. 
  6. Do a boudoir photo shoot. I don’t know why, but it’s something I want to do. I’ve never been confident in my own body, and think that would be a step in the right direction. It’s a big leap to gain the confidence to portray myself in a different way.
  7. Produce a feature-length film. Find the idea. Get it financed. Made. Distributed. I’ve developed a passion for independent films, so a smaller scale production that has a unique story is what I’m aiming for. 
  8. Do an “extreme” activity. Paragliding, skydiving, ATV riding, one or more of those things.
  9. Go to Sundance Film FestivalThe film festival of all film festivals!  It finally happened! I attended back in January and had a great big solo adventure. Next up is SXSW, then Cannes. 
  10. Be a mentor to someone when I become successful. I want to reach out to people, and help people like myself- who come from a working class background, and had to really fight to make their dreams happen. 
  11. Start a foundation/grant: Reading and learning about people in Hollywood, I thought of a grant idea for assistants at talent agencies, studios, and management companies who are underrepresented. I want to start a income supplement grant for someone so they have an easier time acclimated to the assistant lifestyle, and can focus on advancing in Hollywood. I also want to start a grant for filmmakers too so that they can finish their projects. 

OutlookEmoji-1467527988190_PastedImage

ADRIANA, THE CINEMA SOLOIST

One thought on “The Bucket List: To Live a Life Worth Living (Updated 07/17/17)

Leave a Reply

