So it has been a week in sunny California. I’m still looking for a more substantial job, but I found a temporary gig working at the San Diego County Fair. It’s some extra cash while I wait for something better. While I’m still very fresh to California life, here are some more things I noticed:

Car Culture. It’s so spread out here in San Diego. The bus is adequate, but it turns a normal 20-minute drive into an almost 2-hour commute. Not to mention right now transportation is the biggest expense I have. I have thrown away so much money (already) on bus fare and Uber just to get from point A to point B. When I tell people I don’t have a car, I’m met with pity on most occasions. It’s hard, but I have to do it.

escondido.PNG
Where I have to go for most of my connections

Healthy Lifestyle. Everywhere, there is all organic everything, produce galore, and a fancy fad restaurant with the latest health foods. Now I have no excuse not to eat healthy. In the area I live, you can see people walking their dogs, jogging, or playing golf. Every restaurant it seems, even the greasy, fatty ones at the fair, have SOME semblance of a healthy option. Everywhere I turn I see: Organic, Vegan, Gluten-free, etc.  I even saw Kombucha in the checkout line refrigerators. That’s new to me. Kombucha is sold like plain soda.

pink drink.PNG
This drink was almost $9 and didn’t even contain alcohol

The Hustle. Everyone is busy. Most of the people I have met so far have more than one job, gig, hustle- you know what I mean. Everyone is busy trying to make ends meet, follow their dreams, or both. Plus, California is hella expensive, and with the way a lot of jobs are, you can’t support yourself with just one stream of income. With the proximity to Los Angeles, I have already met several people trying to make it into the entertainment business.

Views at the San Diego County Fair

The Weather (Again). It felt like death at the beginning of the week, but it quickly went back to what everyone else is considering is normal, which is mild with a cool breeze. Throughout the week, I felt like I wanted to streak, and other days I wanted to bundle myself up into a cocoon. Also, I am the brownest I’ve ever been, and I have been trying to decipher if I have sunburn because I’ve never had it (I think).

Diversity. I have seen people from all walks of life here. I know not all parts of California are diverse, but where I am, it is. If there is something you are interested in, you will more than likely find it. Moving here really makes me wish I could speak Spanish, the language of (half) my people.

Outdoor Malls. Enough said. I haven’t seen a normal mall since I’ve been here.

Let’s see what’s in store, here is sunny California! Talk more to you soon!

2 thoughts on “Some Impressions of California: First Week

Leave a Reply

