Hello all! I know I have been quiet for a bit. I have been so busy! But hopefully, I will be able to update this blog way more often! Big things are on the horizon and I’m so excited to share!

For the past few months, I have been working in a call center, trying to retain cable services. I had been dreaming and saving money for my big move to California, and I was wondering how I was going to do it and when. Nothing seemed to be happening, and I was curious as to when things would change, but OH did they!

1442429914-SD_FilmFest-2015
Photo Courtesy of SDFF

On June 17th, I will be moving to California! I will be relocating to the San Diego area temporarily before my transition to Los Angeles. I’m not sure how long exactly I’ll be there, but I should be there a good few months, and possibly until early on next year. My original plan was to stay in my current hometown until January, but my mother was able to get in contact with an uncle who lives in California, and he offered to let me stay with him for a while. It was such a blessing! I was not expecting anything of the sort to happen. I was able to put in a two weeks notice at the call center, and made plans to move.

Photo Courtesy of SDFF Facebook

I began to apply to places for opportunities, mainly internships to get my foot in the door. At first, I found a PR firm that seemed amazing, but the interview process fell through. Well it was a good thing that opportunity didn’t work out. After that, I found out about the San Diego Film Festival and applied there as well. I was contacted back within a few days and interviewed. I am excited to say that I will be a Marketing Coordinator for the festival! In case you are not aware of the San Diego Film Festival, you can check out the website here. The festival is a place that celebrates indie films and studio films alike, and generates discussion about entertainment. It also hosts numerous events throughout the year such as screenings, and fundraising events for the San Diego Film Foundation.

So many things are changing all at once! I’ve never been on the west coast before, and I know there is a lot of adapting I will have to do. I am pretty stressed, but it’s a good kind of stress. That kind of stress that comes with anything new and exciting. I am also in the process of looking for a part-time job. Hopefully I can find one fairly quickly.

Now all I have left is my senior internship. Thank God. That’s all I have to say about that. It’s been 5 years, and I can finally say that I am almost finished.

Lastly, I will make sure to keep updated and post more. With the way things are going, I should be able to do more reviews and commentary as well.

Thanks for reading! Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

